Daily Prompt: Justify Existence

You have three hundred words to justify the existence of your favorite person, place, or thing. Failure to convince will result in it vanishing without a trace. Go!

Nature, outdoors, mountains, camping, wide open land, these all came to mind when choosing a topic to write about. Favorite person place or thing, ugh this is not easy. Should it be easier I ask myself? Should I have something in my life that is so compelling I don’t have to conjure up something. A person place or thing that is influential, and remarkable. Something that compels me to write about is hard to choose. My wife or my daughter it comes down too. I must choose. Ok I’m ready.

You all must know about my daughter. Is it the fact I need to tell you about her so convincingly so she doesn’t vanish? Or is it because if I don’t and she does, I would be left with my wife. It seems that either way I choose I’m left with a dreaded consequence if my writing isn’t good enough. All I can do is try my best, so here you go.

The way she graciously caresses your cheek while falling asleep, the way she looks at you and seems to relax all your internal thoughts. The way even though her crying could wake a corpse you feel compelled to comfort her. The way she explores her world so big and yet so small; the way her eyes carry innocence and wonder as if life is perfect and faultless. She isn’t just a baby, or a human. She is a miracle. Of course I’m biased towards her I’m her father, but I think this is ok. All children should be viewed in the same light, as miracles and blessings to the world. We have plenty of grumpy adults, we need more babies. I feel as though one word can justify her existence, love. Love is justified though action but also though internal existence. It seems to just be there whether we choose it to be or not.

Leave a Reply

